30 Day Anime Challenge – Day 4

Day 4 of the 30 day anime challenge is here. To be honest, I am super tired right now and almost decided to skip out and go to bed instead. But I figured that blogging a bit would help me unwind, so here I am. The challenge and subject for today’s blog is: Favorite Female Anime Character Ever. Again with the having to choose! Seriously why can’t I make a list or something?! Okay I guess I can be make a decision for once in my life right? So my favorite female anime character is……

Princess Yona – Yona of the Dawn

Akatsuki no Yona 3

At first I really hated Yona. As much as I felt sorry for her, I wanted to slap her across the face for being such a wimp in the beginning. However, as the show progressed we began to see a different side of her. Yona grew inside a castle for the first 16 years of her life and never really got to see what life was like outside of it. At first being run out of the only home she had only known and into a world she had no clue about was difficult for her. She had to learn how to survive on her own without the life of luxury. Life outside of the castle made Yona become strong and independent. She demanded that Hak teach her how to fight. Yona no longer wanted to be defended, she wanted to defend.

Ep9v2

Not only do I like Yona’s strength but I also love her heart. She truly cares about the people of her country. She is devastated to see the conditions that they have been living in. It is partly not her fault, due to her sheltered upbringing, however Yona decides that she will help her people, even if she is not the one on the throne. She will defend the helpless, protect the young, care for the sick and feed the hungry. At one point she even went without food for days just so the less fortunate could eat. Most of us can only say we’d do that, but she actually did it.

capture-copy

The main reason I love Yona so much is just the complete 180 of her personality and character. She went from a helpless, whiny, spoiled princess, to a strong selfless independent woman. If you have not seen Yona of the Dawn yet, I encourage you too. It is a very interesting show but has a slow build up. I am also reading the manga at this time and am really enjoying it. Feel free to leave a comment with your thoughts on Yona as a character, the show or who your favorite female anime character is.

tumblr_nj7ls7Lrc01u99f2ao1_500

One thought on “30 Day Anime Challenge – Day 4

Leave a Reply

